Internet-based Primary Sources

To find more primary sources on the web try going to www.google.com and enter in the region or era and the words, “primary sources”.  Example: “Russia primary sources” or “Great Depression primary sources”.

Librarians’ Internet Index (search for “primary sources”) http://lii.org

THE UNITED STATES

Multi-Disciplinary

Historical Collections for the National Digital Library http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html

History Matters: US Survey Course on the Web http://historymatters.gmu.edu/search.php http://historymatters.gmu.edu/all.html

Library of Congress Digital Collections http://www.loc.gov/library/libarch-digital.html

The National Archives http://arcweb.archives.gov/arc/basic_search.jsp

New York Public Library Digital Photography Collection http://www.nypl.org/digital/index.htm

Smithsonian Institute http://www.si.edu/

Yale Law School Project Avalon http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/avalon.htm

Art

Smithsonian American Art Museum Online Collections

http://nmaa-ryder.si.edu/collections/online.cfm

History

Authentic History Center http://www.authentichistory.com/

Digitized Primary American History Sources http://www.library.uni.edu/instruction/digitalhistory.shtml

New Deal Network http://newdeal.feri.org/

Our Documents http://www.ourdocuments.gov/

Civil War History

Antebellum period through Reconstruction http://www.hti.umich.edu/m/moagrp/

Documenting the American South: Primary Resources for the Study of Southern History, Literature, and Culture http://www.eduplace.com/ss/hmss/primary.html

Mr. Lincoln’s Virtual Library http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/alhtml/alhome.html

The Papers of Jefferson Davis http://jeffersondavis.rice.edu/

The Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War http://valley.vcdh.virginia.edu/

Political Cartoons

Political Cartoons and Cartoonists http://www.boondocksnet.com/gallery/political_cartoons.html

INTERNATIONAL

Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts (books and literature) http://www.infomotions.com/alex/

Chronology of Historical Documents http://www.law.ou.edu/hist/

Eurodocs http://eudocs.lib.byu.edu/index.php/Main_Page

History of the United Kingdom: Primary Documents http://eudocs.lib.byu.edu/index.php/History_of_the_United_Kingdom:_Primary_Documents

Hypertext on History (includes US) http://odur.let.rug.nl/~usa/D/index.htm

Internet Medieval Sourcebook http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/sbook.html

The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/

Primary Sources (includes US) http://nhs.needham.k12.ma.us/nhs_media/history.html

Project Gutenberg (collection of complete books) http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page

Vincent Voice Library (digital sound collection) http://vvl.lib.msu.edu/index.cfm

ANCIENT HISTORY

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/ancient/asbook.html

LacusCurtius: Into the Roman World http://penelope.uchicago.edu/Thayer/E/Roman/home.htm

 
click to hide
%d bloggers like this: