Harry Potter Read-Alikes

They aren’t exactly like Harry Potter, but these books offer their own worlds of magic and excitement. The symbol † indicates that there are other books by the same author, possibly in the same series, to look for.

Alexander, Lloyd. The Book of Three.†
Assistant Pig Keeper Taran dreams of becoming a hero.

Bellairs, John. House with a Clock in its Walls.†
Behind the walls, the clock ticks away the hours until Doomsday – can Lewis find it in time?

Brittain, Bill. The Wish Giver.
Just press your thumb on the red spot in the center of the card…

Cooper, Susan. The Boggart.†
Emily’s family inherits a crumbling castle and a boggart in her computer.

Coville, Bruce. Jennifer Murdley’s Toad: A Magic Shop Book.†
An ordinary looking fifth grader buys a talking toad.

Dahl, Roald. The Witches.†
Can a boy-turned-mouse foil the High Witch?

Duane, Diane. So You Want to Be a Wizard.†
A library book on Wizardry guides 13-year-old Nita to another dimension.

Eager, Edward. Half Magic.†
The magic charm always grants half a wish-but which half?

Hite, Sid. Dither Farm.
All’s quiet until Aunt Emma arrives, with a flood, Flying carpet, and a kidnapping.

Ibbotson, Eva. The Secret of Platform 13.
A wizard, a hag, a fey, and a mistmaker journey through the gump that connects two worlds.

Jones, Diana. Witch Week.†
In a school where witchery is outlawed, the strangest things are happening.

Langton, Jane. The Diamond in the Window.†
Eleanor and Eddy search for two children who disappeared years ago.

Levine, Gail. Ella Enchanted.
Ella’s curse is that she must obey any order.

Pierce, Tamora. Sandry’s Book.†
Four friends learn to use their powers.

Scieszka, Jon. Knights of the Kitchen Table.†
The Time Warp Trio find themselves in the Middle Ages – can they escape a dragon and a giant? Can they ever get home again?

Snyder, Zilpha. Black and Blue Magic.†
Harry Houdini Marco sprouts wings.

Winthrop, Elizabeth. Castle in the Attic.†
William receives a toy castle, a figurine, and the story that the figure will one day come to life.

Wrede, Patricia. Dealing with Dragons.†
A princess moves in with a group of dragons.

Yep, Laurence. Dragon Steel.†
A princess and her human companion fight the King of Dragons.

More About Harry Potter

There are a total of seven Harry Potter books in print, each one covering a year at the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Harry Potter and the Sorcerers Stone was published in 1998, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets was published in the U.S. in June of 1999, and the third book is Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. The fourth book, released on July 8, 2000, was Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. The fifth book, Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix was released in June 2003. The sixth book, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, was released July 2005. The final installment in the Harry Potter series, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, was released on July 21, 2007.

And still more good books of magic and adventure…

Avi. Tom, Babette and Simon.

Baker, Betty. Seven Spells to Farewell.

Baum, L. Frank. Wizard of Oz.†

Brooke, William J. A Brush with Magic.†

Corbett, Scott. Dr. Merlin’s Magic Shop.

Cresswell, Helen. Time Out.

Dickinson, Peter. Time and the Clock Mice, Ecterea.

Farmer, Nancy. The Ear, the Eye and the Arm.

Fleischman, Sid. The 13th Floor: A Ghost Story.

Gannett, Ruth. My Father’s Dragon.†

Garden, Nancy. Four’s Crossing.

Garner, Alan. Wierdstone of Brisingamen.†

Gordon, John. The Edge of the World.

Graves, Robert. The Big Green Book.

Griffin, Peni. Switching Well.†

Hayes, Sarah. Crumbling Castle.

Hoffman, Mary. The Four-Legged Ghosts.

Jones, Diana Wynne. Stopping for a Spell.†

LeGuin, Ursula. Wizard of Earthsea.†

Levoy, Alan. Magic Hat of Mortimer Wintergreen.

Lindbergh, Anne. Hunky-Dory Dairy.†

Lisle, Janet. Afternoon of the Elves.

Mazer, Anne. Accidental Witch.

McKillip, Patricia. Forgotten Beasts of Eld.†

McMullan, Kate. Under the Mummy’s Spell.

Moon, Sheila. Knee Deep in Thunder.

Napoli, Donna Jo. Jimmy, the Pickpocket of the Palace.

Newbit, E. The Enchanted Castle.†

Norton, Mary. Bed-Knobs and Broomsticks.

Pinkwater, Jill. Mr. Fred.

Pope, Elizabeth. The Perilous Guard.

Pullman, Philip. The Golden Compass.†

 
click to hide